17 Years Blogging

14 11 2023

That’s a long time, seventeen years. Still hanging in there. “Blogging” doesn’t adequately describe what I do here – and especially not in the preachy, editorial, demagogy, “opinions are like assholes” way the term Civil War Blog has come to be regarded in general. Hold on, am I playing the role of a pot here? Please excuse me!

It was a busy year for Bull Runnings and your host. A hearty “THANK YOU” to the Powhatan, Ft. Sumter, Rufus Barringer, Mason-Dixon, Central Ohio, Raleigh, Ohio Valley, and Western Pennsylvania Civil War Roundtables who had me in to speak in 2023. Eight talks, three different presentations, and ideas for more (like, the 6th NC at First Bull Run, for example).

Thanks to Irish in the American Civil War, who had me on their Campfire Chats series to talk about the 69th New York State Militia for what turned out to be three segments.

Thanks to Addressing Gettysburg Podcast who had me in the studio to talk about Bull Runners at the Battle of Gettysburg. Kind of a stream of consciousness thing, and we were all over the place. Names kept popping into my head while “on the air.” Chaos ensued. I believe the segment will air in early 2024. This may turn into and article and presentation, so if any roundtables are interested in that, drop me a line.

Lastly, thanks to Civil War Times magazine. I published an article in what looks like their last print issue (at least for now) after 60+ years, Summer 2023. It was fun writing I Was the First Who Fell, a look at the reactions of four Confederates to their first time in battle. This too is a candidate for a presentation, though it would be from both sides, I think.

I hope you’re all coming back each and every day to see the “new” material on the battle, be they letters, memoirs, photographs, whatever. I still have a lot to put up. Onward!


Actions

Information

6 responses

14 11 2023
Theodore Peter Savas

Thanks for all the good work, Harry. A lot of information you have put up is staggering in its breath and depth. Now you and I need to do something with it. — tps

Liked by 1 person

14 11 2023
Harry Smeltzer

Thanks Ted!

Like

14 11 2023
omalley138

Thx so much for all this. Great job

Liked by 1 person

15 11 2023
John Foskett

Harry: I definitely echo Ted’s comments. This is a go-to site even though I’ve given up on a “Second Bull Runnings” site. LOL

Liked by 1 person

10 12 2023
chris evans

Congrats as always from a longtime reader!

Liked by 1 person

10 12 2023
Harry Smeltzer

Thanks for sticking with me!

Like

Leave a comment