Medals of Honor

Bull Run Medals of Honor

Including the Action at Blackburn’s Ford

Lt. Adelbert Ames, Battery D, 5th US Artillery

Lt. Samuel N. Benjamin, Battery B, 2nd US Artillery

Capt. Walter H. Cooke, Co. K, 4th PA Infantry

Pvt. James E. Cross, Co. K, 12th NY Infantry

Col. John F. Hartranft, 4th PA Infantry

Pvt. Abiather J. Knowles, Co. D, 2nd ME Infantry

Cpl. Owen McGough, Battery D, 5th US Artillery

Sgt. John G. Merritt, Co. K, 1st MN Infantry

Lt. Charles J. Murphy, 38th NY Infantry

Pvt. Charles F. Rand, Co. K, 12th NY Infantry 

Dr. Mary E. Walker, U. S. Army

Pvt. Henry W. Wheeler, Co. A., 2nd ME Infantry

Col. Orlando B. Willcox, 1st MI Infantry

Capt. William H. Withington, Co. B, 1st MI Infantry

Thanks to Jim Burgess of Manassas National Battlefield Park

One response

20 04 2008
Medals of Honor « Bull Runnings

[…] of Honor I have a new page up on the right, Medal of Honor Winners.  Right now it lists the names and units of the 13 soldiers awarded the medal for their actions at […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: