Sgt. Henry S. Shanklin, Co. D, 27th Virginia Infantry, On the Battle

9 11 2023

Manassas Junction
July 23rd 1861.

My dear Parents

With a bleeding heart do I write this morning Monday 23 attempt to write you these few lines we were engaged in a tremendous battle yesterday and we have to mourn the loss of of several of the Monroe Guards. Capt. Tiffany was killed immediately we marched on the field he was shot in the right brest he survived but a short time he died galently the last time I saw him he was in front of his company urging them on his last words were [this line illegible] God bless his soul & strengthen her to receive this dreadful news. Col. Prestons regt* & ours marched to the field at the same time & we had to lay flat down upon the ground for a long time, two hours I suppose we were right behind our batterys. The Canon Balls Bombs & bullets flying over our heads thick and fast one shot exploded in front of us and kill several of Prestons men three of our boys killed & one wounded with it they were Arch Campbell Mr. O Camp & John Conner killed John C. Lynch wounded & Wiley Wingfield was shot thro with a ball he lived several hours afterwards Col Prestons regt was ordered to charge soon afterwards, our companys was seperated as soon as we got up from the ground Our regiment made a dreadful charge said to be the most effective charge that was made We put them to flight, but suffered greatly Wm Jennings planted our flag on their cannon he received two flesh wounds not dangerous. Poor Bob Hamilton was instantly killed he fought bravely he leaves many mourning friends. Charley Tiffany was wounded in both legs they are flesh wounds, one of them in left thigh. Charley Shanklin in the head, I have not seen him yet.

David Shanklin was shot between the shoulders I dont think he will get well. Patrick Cavanagh wound slightly Leut Wiley wounded in the same

Lieut Zoll by a spent ball on the shoulder a ball [hit] William Patton in the hand I have not seem him Greenvill Rutlidge rcvd a slight wound I dont know where John Fry slight wound in the head Cadet Wight our drill master was wounded in the head not dangerous, he is a fine fellow. The battle was a dreadful one such as never was seen by mortal man. It is reported that there was fifty thousand of the enemy and we did not have more than two or three regiments engaged against them at one time we repulsed them three or four times, thousands of the enemy was killed & wounded and a great many taken prisners. Our loss was considerable but nothing like the number of the enemy. We captured two of Shermans famous battery The flag of the Monroe Guards waved over them there was thirteen pieces of that battery taken wagons a glorious victory thank God Stuarts cavalry numbering from 1500 to 2000 men followed [them] 6 miles I did not get the least scratch thanks to my God. I fought until I was ordered back I fired seven rounds. I dont know whether I killed anyone or not. I fired in the same group all the time they were not more than 100 yds off Well I am compelled to do my chore – – – dead to bury I am going to the battlefield directly I will give full particulars of our march from Winchester here at the battlefield I am in hopes this will stop the fight for a while we are at the loss to know what to do for another captain we will never have another one like the one we had. God bless his soul. pray for me continually God saved me yesterday he will save me at last you need write until you hear from me again

Your devoted son Henry

Capt. Steel & Lewis Caperton has this morning com to our camp

MS #25688 Va. State Library, Richmond, Va.

Source image

Contributed by John Hennessy

*4th Virginia Infantry

Henry S. Shanklin at Ancestry.com

Henry S. Shanklin at Fold3

Henry S. Shanklin at FindAGrave?