My Last For Now

15 08 2023
Matt Callery, host of the Addressing Gettysburg Podcast, and me.

This past weekend I travelled to Gettysburg for my last scheduled “appearance” of what has been (for me) a very busy 2023. On Sunday I recorded an episode of the Addressing Gettysburg Podcast with host Matt Callery. I have to say, I really enjoyed the whole experience. I’ve never worked in a “real” studio before. Using headphones confirmed my long-held detest of the sound of my own voice. It was an informal format, and I used only general notes. I talked about First Bull Run in general, though probably in more detail than we thought going into it, then segued into Bull Runners who bought the farm – for the most part, spectacularly – at Gettysburg. Matt tells me the episode probably won’t air until early 2024. I’ll keep you posted.

The Wall of Fame
There it is – I’m officially famous!

On Saturday, I spent some time on the field visiting a few of the fallen Bull Runners:

James McKay Rorty of the 69th NYSM
Augustus Van Horne Ellis of the 71st NYSM
Alonzo Cushing of Battery G, 2nd US Artillery

Also on Saturday, I made my first ever visit to the supremely haunted Sachs Bridge.

A youthful Peter Venkman

On Sunday, on the anniversary of his death, I stopped by to say hi to Thaddeus Stevens.

Dead, but cranky

Thanks to a good friend who came up to spend Saturday afternoon with me.

Craig Swain and yours truly at Appalachian Brewing Company. It was noon. Somewhere.

Actions

Information

One response

14 11 2023
17 Years Blogging | Bull Runnings

[…] to Addressing Gettysburg Podcast who had me in the studio to talk about Bull Runners at the Battle of Gettysburg. Kind of a stream of consciousness thing, and we were all over the place. Names kept popping into […]

Like

Leave a comment