Unit History – Lynchburg Artillery (Latham’s-Blount’s Battery)

22 05 2022

Completed its organization at Lynchburg, Virginia, in April, 1861. After taking an active part in the Battle of First Manassas, the unit was assigned to J. Dearing’s, H. P. Jones’, J. P. W. Read’s (38th Battalion), and R. M. Stribling’s Battalion of Artillery. It fought with the Army of Northern Virginia from Williamsburg to Gettysburg, moved to North Carolina, and later was involved in the Plymouth expedition. Returning to Virginia it was active on the Bermuda Hundred line and saw action at Cold Harbor and in front of Petersburg. It sustained 10 casualties of the 96 engaged at Gettysburg, and many were captured at Rice’s Station on April 6, 1865. It surrendered at Appomattox with only 3 men. Captains Joseph G. Blount, James Dearing, James W. Dickerson, and J. Gery Latham were in command.

From Joseph H. Crute, Jr., Units of the Confederate States Army, pp. 402-403



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: