Blackburn’s Ford

2 02 2009

So far this site has been mostly silent on the fight at Blackburn’s Ford on July 18, 1861.  It was initially known as the Battle of (or at) Bull (or Bull’s) Run, before the bigger battle three days later.  I’m not really sure why I chose to treat the actions separately, but I’ve changed my mind.  I’m going to go back and start posting the ORs pertaining to Blackburn’s Ford.  For now, the actions in the Valley will not be a part of this site, though that may change at some point.

I think I’m also going to try to post the tables from the ORs as well – numbers and losses.  This requires a little more work converting the files into images that I can post, but I think I have the hang of it.

I hope you enjoyed the last few of letters from W. T. Sherman and T. J. Goree.  Other letters and diaries to come.  Be sure to read the comments to these – I have some pretty bright readers who contribute mightily to this site via the comments section.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment