#106 – Capt. John S. Langhorne

31 05 2008

Report of Capt. John S. Langhorne, Thirtieth Virginia Cavalry

O.R.– SERIES I–VOLUME 2 [S# 2] — CHAPTER IX, pp. 552-553

CAMP NEAR CENTREVILLE, July 25, 1861

SIR: I have to report at the battle of the 21st July my company was detailed as a support to the first section of the Loudoun Artillery, when they were exposed to the heavy fire (cross-fire) from the enemy’s batteries. We were not relieved from that duty until a late hour of the day, when, with several squadrons of cavalry, under command of Lieutenant-Colonel Munford, of Radford’s regiment, we were ordered to intercept and charge the retreating column of the enemy. This was done with spirit and alacrity by my command, and resulted in the capture of thirty-two prisoners, ten horses, three wagons, one wagon of ammunition, a large and valuable assortment of surgical instruments, thirty-six muskets, a number of pistols, all of which, with the exception of the pistols, one wagon, and two horses have been delivered to the proper authorities at Manassas.

My command lost two horses, and two men wounded from the accidental discharge of their own guns; also six shot-guns in the charge.

I hope some effort will be made to remount my men and supply those with arms who have lost them through an order given by the commander of the squadron when the charge was made.

Respectfully,

JOHN S. LANGHORNE,

Captain Company B, Radford’s Regiment

MEM.–As to the number killed by my command I decline speaking. I know it was very considerable.

J. S. L., Captain, &c.

Col. P. ST. GEORGE COCKE,

Commanding Fifth Brigade, Virginia Volunteers


Actions

Information

Leave a comment