Three Days in the Shenandoah

1 05 2008

Three Days in the ShenandoahThe University of Oklahoma Press has finally released my friend Gary Ecelbarger’s (see here) Three Days in the Shenandoah: Stonewall Jackson at Front Royal and Winchester.  It’s been a long time in the making, and I think it will be worth the wait.  While I haven’t seen the book yet, I have toured the Valley with Gary and think his take on the critical three days of May 23, 24, & 25, 1862 is exactly what the story of Jackson’s Valley Campaign has needed.  The real earth shattering discovery that Gary has made is one that has evaded historians like G. F. R. Henderson, Robert G. Tanner, Robert K. Krick and James I. Robertson all these years: there were Yankee soldiers in the Valley at the same time Jackson was there!!!  No, really; there were!  But don’t take my word for it – buy this book!

Gary, if you’re out there, how in the heck did Ol’ Blue Light wind up in the title and on the dust jacket?  Did you fight the good fight?