Lt. Melvin Dwinell, Co. A, 8th Georgia Infantry, On Casualties and Spoils

29 11 2022

Battle Ground near Manassas Junction July 24 1861

Dear Parents – On last Sunday I was in the midst of one of the hardest fought battles that has ever occurred in America – I am without a scratch or even a bullet hole in my clothes – Five of our men fell dead by my side – four were mortally wounded – and six or eight more severely – It seems a miracle that I escaped unharmed. The Confederate Army was victorious and completely routed Lincoln’s forces – We took 64 cannon of the best kind, 100 heavy baggage wagons – about 600 Prisoners and drove the enemy back some 12 or 15 miles and would have pursued them to Washington but out men gave out from sheer exhaustion.

Your aft. Son
Melvin

From Dear Courier: The Civil War Correspondence of Editor Melvin Dwinell, pp. 57-58

Melvin Dwinell at Ancestry.com

Melvin Dwinell at Fold3

Melvin Dwinell at FindAGrave

Vermonter in Gray: The Story of Melvin Dwinell

More on Melvin Dwinell herehere, and here


Actions

Information

3 responses

29 11 2022
tyount

8th Georgia Infantry probably wrong unit.

Like

29 11 2022
Harry Smeltzer

Why do you think that? From what I see, Dwinell mustered in as 2nd Lt. 5/18/61 and was promoted to 1st Lt. 2/13/1862. He resigned 11/16/63 after being elected to serve in the Georgia Legislature.

Like

30 11 2022
tyount

My mistake I was looking at your citations thinking he might be a Union soldier. I looked again I did not read far enough.

Like

Leave a comment