2nd Corp. James Asbury Adair, Co. F, 8th Georgia Infantry, On the Battle

30 01 2022

Letter from J. A. Adair.

Richmond, July 24, 1861.

Messrs. Editors: On Sunday morning our boys were marched up in front of the enemy. It was two o’clock before relief forces came to our relief. Though we (Col. Bartow’s and Col Gartrell’s Regiments) were weak, we kept the wretches at their position until we were relieved. When the shot was showering at us thick as hail, we loaded and fired at them as though we were shooting squirrels. I killed some very large Yankees, and feel as though I had discharged my duty; though I expect to be with the boys again as soon as I recover. I was shot through the muscle of my arm below the elbow. I think it will soon heal.

The citizens of Richmond are rejoicing at the victory, and many have kindly asked me if they could serve me in any way.

I have been asked ten thousand questions about the battel; and I see that Mr. Pritchard has given you a wrong statement about some of the boys. I see that he has the two Hammonds killed, when I informed him I saw them wounded, and had heard they were killed. I now hear that they are not killed. – Frank is not killed. I wish I could write you more, but I am fatigued and must close.

Yours truly,
J. A. Adair.

(Atlanta, GA) Southern Confederacy, 7/31/1861

Clipping Image

James Asbury Adair at Ancestry

James Asbury Adair at Fold3

James Asbury Adair at FindAGrave


Actions

Information

Leave a comment