Corp. William H. Merrell, Co. E, 27th New York Infantry, On His Captivity (1)

18 02 2022

NORHTERN SLANDERS REFUTED.

The following extract from a letter received by Mrs. W. H. Merrill, wife of one of the wounded Federal officers at Richmond, is published in the Rochester (N. Y.) Express. It shows how utterly false have been the statements of the northern press that the Virginians were treating the Federal prisoners with inhumanity:

“I received a wound from a musket ball in my left breast, the ball lodging in my left side. It was a very narrow escape from instant death, but only Heavenly Father willed it otherwise. I was taken prisoner with hundreds of others, and brought to Richmond, where my wound was dressed and where I have received nothing but kindness, the best of care and good treatment. God bless the doctors and Sisters of Mercy, and all the kindhearted people of Virginia. I could not have been treated better among my own friends than I have been here. I am recovering rapidly, and will be about in a week or two. I expect I will be exchanged in due time.”

The Baltimore (MD) Sun, 8/13/1861

Clipping Image

27th NYVI Roster

William H. Merrell at Ancestry

William H. Merrell at Fold3

William H. Merrell at FindAGrave (Possibly)


Actions

Information

Leave a comment