Corp. Philip B. Simms, Co. K, 7th Georgia Infantry, On the Morning of the Battle

5 02 2022

Letter to Col. Simms from his Son.

Manassas, July 21st, 1861.

Dear Father: I write you a few lines before going into the battle-field. The cannon is now loudly pealing forth its thunders, and our Regiment is under orders to move. Friday there was a fight here. We killed 1,000, took 500 muskets, 100 knapsacks, 150 hats, 23 prisoners, killed a Lieutenant Colonel, and took seven hundred dollars in gold, with a map of the surrounding country, having all its roads and paths plainly laid down. At Winchester, we received orders to march to this point, and immediately set out, marching all night, and reached here Saturday night. * * * * * * Everything is now in an uproar and confusion, so that I can’t write.

Give my love to my dear mother, sister and brother. I may never see you again, but I hope to do so, as I do not believe that I shall get killed.

Write me and give me the news from my dear old State, and especially from my friends at home.

Truly and ever, your son,
Philip B. Simms

N. B. We had ten killed in the fight the other day. The news comes that we are whipping them this morning.

P. B. S.

(Atlanta, GA) Southern Confederacy, 7/28/1861

Clipping Image

Phillip B. Simms at Ancestry

Phillip B. Simms at Fold3

Phillip B. Simms at FindAGrave


Actions

Information

Leave a comment