On Military History

12 12 2014

In the blogosphere, in print, and on social media currently there is a buzz about the subject of military history. I won’t go into the details and give links – just Google Civil War and Military History and you’ll find plenty of examples. Opinions on what “military history” is, what it is not, and what it is becoming vary widely, as do opinions on whether the issue is a mountain or a molehill. So who am I to not take the opportunity to weigh in?

First off, let me stress that I don’t consider myself a historian, military or otherwise. I’ve said that before and nothing has changed. To me, a historian is an individual who has been trained and accredited in the field of history. In short, someone with a degree in history from a post-secondary institution. Now, I try to adhere to a set of standards which I understand to be good practice in the field, but you only have my word to go by. It’s a base-line thing. It’s not qualitative. Historians can produce awful history, and non-historians can produce great history.

While I have not yet found a good definition for military history, I have developed my own, after a fashion. I’ll make it simple – military history to me is not history that simply involves military operations (though based on some awards given out this past year – and pretty hefty ones at that – that does seem to be a working definition for some pretty prestigious organizations.) Military history, in my opinion, at the very least reflects an understanding of  not only military conventions and doctrines of the time in question – say, the American Civil War – but also of how they fit on the developmental timeline. For example, if one is going to critique decision making, one had better have a good grasp of the experiences (education, training, service) that led the actor to that point. And a military historian is someone whose education in history focused on this specialty. That does not mean that someone untrained in military history cannot produce good military history. It does mean, however, that they are not military historians. To me. At this point.

To put it in simple terms, Sheldon is a theoretical physicist. Leonard, poor Leonard, is only a practical (or applied) physicist. Raj is an astrophysicist. And Wolowitz only has a masters. In engineering. A glorified plumber. You see the differences, right?


Actions

Information

8 responses

12 12 2014
Meg Thompson

Huzzah!

Like

12 12 2014
Harry Smeltzer

Thanks Meg.

Like

12 12 2014
Dale Fishel

Excellent post…I’ve accepted the reality years ago that my keen interest in history doesn’t make me a “historian”. I don’t think Wolowitz sees the difference however! ;o)

Like

12 12 2014
Harry Smeltzer

Thanks Dale.

Like

12 12 2014
Timothy Orr

Really important question: Why did you refer to Sheldon, Leonard, and Raj by their first names and Wolowitz by his last name?

Like

12 12 2014
Harry Smeltzer

Because for the most part that’s how they refer to each other. Except Sheldon does sometimes call Raj by his last name, Koothrappali.

Good question, though.

Like

27 01 2015
Come to the Dark Side: Disability as “Dark” Civil War History | Nursing Clio

[…] side,” as if we were participants in an epic galactic war, the historians of the Civil War blogosphere have rightly pushed back against many of these claims. I loved the Tattooed Professor Kevin […]

Like

14 07 2015
Military history *is* history… and it *is* a separate discipline | To the Sound of the Guns

[…] we need to address what makes the discipline a separate discipline.  My friend Harry Smeltzer brought this up last fall, when he […]

Like

Leave a comment