Preview: Ronald A. Hopkins, “Forget Not the Cry of the Humble”

31 08 2011

I have been remiss. Months ago reader Ron Hopkins sent me a copy of his Civil War novel Forget Not the Cry of the Humble. and I’m just now getting around to posting a preview. I should mention that I barely have time for the Civil War non-fiction I want to read, let alone fiction. And fiction is much more difficult to preview for me than non-fiction. But Mr. Hopkins was kind enough to send me the book, so the least I can do is mention it here. Here’s a link to a web page Ron has set up describing the book. This page is on a website for Ron’s other novel, which he also sent me, Sherman’s Creek, a non-Civil War murder mystery. Give either one a tumble if they sound like your cup of tea. From the web page:

Forget Not the Cry of the Humble, the moving Civil War novel by Ronald A. Hopkins, offers an undeterred and powerful view into the lives of young foot soldiers who waged the war’s bloody battles.

Simple Pennsylvania farmers when their country calls upon them to fight, Jesse Potter and George Zinnt are baptized by the fire of Fredericksburg and struggle to hold the line at Gettysburg, the place at which their – and their nation’s – lives change forever.

Set amidst the brutal Southern weather, conflicts within their regiment and turmoil within their own natures rage alongside the horrors of the battlefield to provide the reader with a new understanding of the term “war hero”.