Family Ties – Kilpatrick Part IV

4 09 2008

Here’s an update on the Kilpatrick Family Ties series (see here for all of them, including this one).  When I was writing Part II, I learned that Evelyn Nesbit, The Girl in the Red Velvet Swing, had also posed for the artist Charles Dana Gibson and was one of his popular Gibson Girls.  That’s Evelyn as a Gibson Girl up top.  One thing led to another – as it usually does – and I noticed at one point that Gibson’s father was named Charles deWolf Gibson, and was a lieutenant in the Civil War.  While I couldn’t nail him down, wouldn’t you know the search for Charles deWolf Gibson turned up this guy:

That’s right, newscaster Charles deWolf “Charlie” Gibson.  As I couldn’t verify a relationship, I filed this away in the back of my noggin.  But today I did a Google search of Charles+deWolf+Dana+Gibson, and turned up a bit from an August 27, 1997 broadcast of ABC’s Good Morning America, in which Gibson describes himself and co-star Elizabeth Vargas as “The Gibson Guy and the Vargas Girl” and notes that Charles Dana Gibson was his great-uncle.  I couldn’t get the whole transcript as I’m not a subscriber to Highbeam Research, but if any of you have the service you can find the Good Morning America transcripts here.  And for any of you not old or lecherous enough to remember Vargas (or the earlier Varga) Girls, here’s one:

Hubba hubba.


Actions

Information

One response

14 02 2009
Family Ties - Kilpatrick Part III « Bull Runnings

[…] 05 2008 This should be the last is the 3rd entry in the Kilpatrick thread (see Part I, Part II, Part IV and Part […]

Like

Leave a comment