Road Trip!

2 05 2007

bluto.jpg

 

I’ll be heading out on a combination research trip/battlefield stomp early tomorrow morning.  My first stop is the U. S. Army Military History Institute at Carlisle, PA.  While there I will be checking out what they have on the 16th CT, the 205th PA, and an officer who played a prominent role at the First Battle of Bull Run.  The first and last of these are for proposed magazine articles; the 205th PA was my great-grandfather’s unit.

After spending the day in Carlisle I’ll stay the night in Gettysburg, then head south to Antietam Friday morning.  I’m supposed to hook up with Ted Alexander to go through some of the park’s holdings relative to the 16th CT, and if I have time I’ll check out the Christ Reformed Church in Sharpsburg, which is where the memorial stained glass window to the regiment was located until recently removed for renovation.  (Mr. Alexander called as I was typing this, and I’m to meet him at 4:30 on Friday, so I’ll have plenty of time Friday to take care of any other business).  Then, I’ll meet up with my father-in-law and his brothers for dinner in Shepherdstown. 

On Saturday I’ll go over to the park with the in-laws.  At 1:30 PM NPS ranger, e-quaintance, and fellow blogger Mannie Gentile is supposed to be leading a tour of an undisclosed portion of the battlefield.  We’ll tag along and I’ll make loud and obnoxious comments about anything with which I disagree, because I know Mannie will be discreet and not publicly out me.  Yeah, right… 

Anyway, I’ll be away for the weekend.  I may be able to find some time to post in the evenings, but I can’t promise anything.  I have a new laptop, with Vista, so I’m not sure how things will turn out (I’m posting this using the new computer).  One way or another I’ll let you know how my trip turns out.