Et Tu, B&N?

5 01 2012

See the whole WaPo article here.

I got a Kindle Fire for Christmas. I fought it for a long time, but the wife made my decision for me. It’s easy to read a book on the Kindle. The screen is nice and clear. So, why should I still buy books made out of paper if I can get it electronically? Now, I love books: the look, the feel, the heft, the smell of them. I take pleasure in knowing I have a lot of them. But I also know I buy many of my books with the full realization I will probably never get around to reading them cover to cover. Will I do that with an ebook? Here’s another question – will publishers see the benefit of “bundling” printed books with their ebook counterparts before the “real thing” bites the dust?





A Tease…

5 01 2012

I’m feeling guilty because I have four books that I simply have not had the time to give their due. I’m still swamped, but the least I can do is get the links to these up now.

The Battle of First Bull Run Manassas Campaign – July 16-22, 1861: An Illustrated Atlas and Battlefield Guide, by Blaikie Hines. Interview likely.

Your Affectionate Son: Letters from a Civil War Soldier, Milann Ruff Daugherty, ed. Interview likely.

For Liberty: My Ancestor’s Story of Immigration and the Civil War, by Larry B. Bramble.

The Library of Congress Illustrated Timeline of the Civil War, by Margaret E. Wagner

Zouave alert! I also received the following from Patrick Schroeder. Interview likely.

With the 11th New York Fire Zouaves in Camp, Battle, and Prison: The Narrative of Private Arthur O’Neil Alcock in The New York Atlas and Leader, Pohanka and Schroeder.

Charlie’s Civil War: A Private’s Trial by Fire in the 5th New York Volunteers – Duryee Zouaves and 146th New York Infantry, by Chalres Brandagee Livingstone

Campaigns of the 146th Regiment New York State Volunteers, by Mary Genevie Green Brainard

All I need is TIME!








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 781 other followers