Bee Monument, ca 1939

29 05 2014

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 05 2014
Kevin Lonergan

Dear BR: One of my best memories on the First Bull Ryn Battlefield itself is the time my friend Brian Pohanka showed me where the stump of the above monument was located in the 80′s. May Gen Bee and Brian both RIP.

Kevin Lonergan

29 05 2014
Harry Smeltzer

Hi Kevin,

Find a picture of what’s left of the original monument here: http://bullrunnings.wordpress.com/2009/06/19/manassas-national-battlefield-park-may-2009/ However, note that what you’re referring to is the original monument to Col. Bartow.

30 05 2014
Kevin Lonergan

Harry:

Thanks for squaring me away! I also remember that day I took some pictures of the base of that monument along with pictures of the Iron Gate on NY York Avenue. I still have those pictures somewhere. I do have a little cartoon drawing of a Zouave that Brian did for me when he autographed several of his books for me. I always wanted to send a copy of the funny little zouave to his widow, Ms. Cricket. Do you know how I could get in touch with her to send her a copy?

Thanks,

Kevin

30 05 2014
Harry Smeltzer

You might try going through Patrick Schroeder, who you can contact via his publishing company.

3 06 2014
Kevin Lonergan

Thanks Harry! Pat is an old 5NYDZ buddy as well! Great Idea!

3 06 2014
Harry Smeltzer

Seems like you can’t swing a dead cat without hitting a 5NYDZ reenactor these days…;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 836 other followers

