Stuff I Gotta Do

16 04 2010

I’ve been asked, along with a bunch of other folks, to contribute to an editorial piece for Civil War Times magazine.  The topic – the Governor of Virginia’s Confederate History Month proclamation, his apology for the wording of same, and the sometimes thoughtful, sometimes bizarre reactions they prompted – is a hot one just now.  I decided not to discuss it here, because as a commenter on Robert Moore’s blog correctly points out the controversy is a lot more about the present than it is about the past.  And I think no one can deny that modern politics, which are taboo here, play a big part in the discussion.  The other contributors are mostly big shots and mostly real historians (and doubtless scratching their heads wondering who the Harry guy in the e-mail cc list is), so I don’t anticipate my contribution will stand out in any positive way, and may even wind up on the cutting room floor.  I’ll give it a shot, but every time I think about it I go off in different directions.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine





Chickamauga Book Trailer

16 04 2010

The publisher of Dave Powell’s recent The Maps of Chickamauga asked if I would be good enough to post a trailer for the book here on Bull Runnings.  As Dave is a friend of mine and his book is an excellent and important work, I hereby comply.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 897 other followers