War Like the Thunderbolt

28 07 2009

51lkliy3G4L__SS500_I received a bound galley of Russell Bonds’s upcoming study of the battle and burning of Atlanta, War Like the Thunderbolt, set for release on September 2, 2009.  I told Russell that I would look it over and give it the review-in-brief treatment.  But several forces have converged to alter that plan.  For one thing, I’m finishing up Volume I of Lincoln’s Collected Works; some of that has been mind-numbing, and I just don’t have it in me to jump right into volume II.  (I’m also reading Four Brother’s in Blue, and that thing is endless – good, but endless.)  For another, I’m not very well read on the Atlanta Campaign; I have all the standard works – except for that old Savas two volume essay collection, I’d like to get my hands on that – but haven’t got around to reading them.  Also, after flipping through the book (somebody needs to explain the difference between an uncorrected proof, an advanced reading copy, and a bound galley), I like the style.  It looks very readable, and I’m thinking it shouldn’t take too long.  I’ll report back to you when I’m finished.  In the meantime you may want to look into Russell’s critically acclaimed Stealing the General.

Actions

Information

One response

28 07 2009
Drew Wagenhoffer

Harry,
Maybe a publisher will chime in and correct me, but I think in the ‘old days’ the distinctions between the three terms were more pronounced. In the progression between rough draft and retail copy, it would go galley (roughest), uncorrected proof, and then ARC as something quite close in content and appearance to the final version. Today, the ones I get in the mail from publishers seem to be all around the same stage of development, yet they are variably labeled.

DW

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 888 other followers

