Civil War Art – Howard Pyle

31 01 2009

In my continuing quest to show that Civil War art doesn’t have to suck, I ran acorss these here.  N. C. Wyeth was a pupil of Howard Pyle.  Here are a few of Pyle’s CW illustrations – click on the thumbnails for large images:

I Thought of You When I Was Falling It Was a Comrade From His Own Regiment The Charge The Midnight Court Martial They Talked it Over - With Me On a Horse Generla Lee on His Famous Charger "Traveller" Lincoln's Last Day

Left to right: I Was Thinking of You When I Fell; It Was a Comrade From His Own Regiment; The Charge; The Midnight Court Matial; They Talked it Over – With Me On a Horse; General Lee on His Famous Charger “Traveller”; Lincoln’s Last Day.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 835 other followers