#82b – Capt. James H. Waters

5 01 2009

Supplemental Report

Report of Captain James Harley Waters, Fifth Virginia Volunteers

SUPPLEMENT TO THE O.R. – VOL.1: REPORTS ADDENDUM TO SERIES I, VOL. 2, p. 191

Dear Sir: I have to report to you that neither my company nor myself was at Stone Bridge on the evening of July 21 as, unser your order, I had taken my whole company near the house on the hill above the battery with instructions to search for the dead and wounded and carry them off the field.

I had with me at the battery more than two-thirds of my company, which went into the battle eighty strong and but for those sent back with the wounded and killed during the fight, I think I might have counted at the battery all but three or four.  I do not know of any that left the field without my leave.

J. H. Waters,

Captain, [West Augusta Guards] Company L,

Fifth Regiment Virginia Volunteers

Colonel Harper

[Indorsement]

Captain Waters had my consent to look after his killed and wounded as stated.  The order to march in pursuit was received after my consent was given and I could not delay to collect his company.

[John W. Daniel Papers (#158), Manuscripts Division, Special Collections Department, University of Virginia Library]








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 899 other followers