More on Armstrong’s Antietam Tour

16 10 2008

Steve Mynes over at Civil War Battles and Battlefields has written a detailed account of the recent SHAF tour of Antietam with Vince Armstrong (I briefly described it here).  Check it out.  I’ve also added Steve to the blogroll at right.  It was nice meeting you, Steve, and thanks for loaning me your Trailhead Graphics map for the morning tour when I absentmindedly left mine in the car.





News on the Writing Front

16 10 2008

I got some good news the other day:  my Reviews in Brief for America’s Civil War magazine are going to be rolled into a column with a new name and a slight format change.  Right now I review (in brief, mind you) four new releases for each column.  Beginning with the March 2009 issue, I’ll review up to four new releases in brief as before, but will add at least two additional books from my own shelves.  The key will be to choose books that compliment all, some or even just one of the four new books.  And that will be up to me.

This should be fun.  I’m looking forward to it.  Maybe not real writing, but closer to it.





Now Reading – Doctors in Blue

16 10 2008

Classic medical history of the Union army.  No footnotes.  I’ll be reading Doctors in Gray after this, and haven’t decided yet whether I’ll follow that up with Bleeding Blue and Gray.  I had a bad experience with that book and wrote about it here.  Let me know if you’ve read any of these three, and what you think of them.

Here’s the Amazon listing for Doctors in Blue.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 782 other followers