Coming Soon: The Weider Flap

8 08 2007

I’ll weigh in on the Weider History Group imbroglio tonight.  I’ve held off because I only had one side of the story, and because I don’t usually write about such things.  But if you are one of the three regular readers of this blog, you know that I have written for a magazine in the Weider group.  In fact, beginning with the November issue I will be listed in the masthead of America’s Civil War magazine as a Contributing Writer, and I am also slated to do book reviews.  Therefore, I think my commenting is altogether fitting and proper (that’s the second time today I’ve used that phrase).

I spoke on the phone earlier today with the editor of America’s Civil War, Dana Shoaf.  Dana will be leaving ACW to edit Civil War Times Illustrated, and it’s not on an interim basis.  He had some things to say about the situation, and some corrections to misinformation regarding ownership, prior ownership, direction and commitment that I think you’ll be interested in reading about. 

Check back later.





Bull Run Prisoners

8 08 2007

John Hoptak at The 48th Pennsylvania Veteran Volunteer Infantry has an interesting post regarding Union prisoners, some taken at Bull Run, who were held for an unusually long period in “retaliation” for the treatment of Confederate privateers taken with the schooner Enchantress.  Check it out; it’s good stuff.  I wrote about some of these prisoners here, here and here.

11thny.jpgThis photo is from an 11th NY website, and shows prisoners from the regiment at Castle Pinckney.  While one of the men is shown wearing baggy trousers and sash, it should be noted that the color of the 11th NY zouave uniform was gray, and most of the men were wearing blue pants during the battle.  Right click on the thumbnail for the full size image.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 874 other followers